• Home
  • Just Life
  • Product Reviews
  • Entertainment Reviews
  • Contact

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

ESRB Celebrates 20 Years - Video and Computer Games Rating

[Twitter party is scheduled for September 24th at 8 PM EST #ESRB20 Twitter Party on 9/24 @ 8PM] 

Please celebrate with us as the ESRB celebrates 20 years.  September 16, 2014, marks the 20th anniversary of  the ESRB (Entertainment Software Rating Board). ESRB enables the $21 Billion video gaming industry to responsibly market and educate consumers about what they are purchasing.  Similar to how food labels assist parents to understand the quality and nutritional value of what their family consumes, ESRB enables parents to understand the quality and safety level of the games their family plays.

Since September 16, 1994, ESRB ratings have appeared on nearly every computer or video
game sold in the U.S.  ESRB has consistently been recognized by government officials and consumers alike as the most effective entertainment rating system today.  As technology evolves ESRB is right in step.  ESRB has been proactive by introducing a rating service in 2012 to rate digitally delivered games and apps that made getting a rating easy, fast, and cost-free for developers. Whether your family is playing a game on a video game console, laptop or mobile device, you can find the trusted and familiar ESRB rating icons.

One of my kids favorite mobile games is Clash of the Clans. This is a game to be played as a group or clan. I felt comfortable knowing that the "E" rating was suitable for any age within their diverse group/clan.  [Clash of Clans is a mobile freemium strategy video game. A multiplayer game, Clash of Clans allows players to build their community, train troops, and attack other players to earn gold and elixirs while building their own defenses to protect against attackers. An interactive game, players can use the chat feature to communicate with others and join clans to aid each other.]

Check out this great video summarizing what ESRB is about:

Here's a guide-at-a-glance into the Rating System:

20 Years of Highlights:

  • ESRB started with five rating categories: EC (Early Childhood), K-A (Kids to Adults), T(Teen), M (Mature), and AO (Adults Only). In 1998, K-A was changed to E (Everyone), andin 2005, E10+ (Everyone 10+) was added.
  • 1 Federal Trade Commission Report to Congress December 2009: Marketing Violent Entertainment to Children The first rating certificates were issued on September 16, 1994. Some of the first rated titles included Doom for Sega 32X (M), Pitfall for Super NES (T), Super Punch Out!! for Super NES (K-A), Sonic Double Trouble for Sega Game Gear (K-A), and Donkey Kong Country for Super NES (K-A).
  • Of all the games rated by ESRB, 94% have been rated E, E10+ or T; E remains the most popular rating category, representing nearly 70% of all games rated.
  • Awareness of ESRB ratings remains consistently high with 85% of parents saying they are familiar with ESRB ratings.
  • Over 20 years, ESRB has rated games and apps submitted by over 9,500 companies formore than 40 different platforms, starting with 8-bit consoles.
  • In addition to rating games, ESRB also enforces advertising guidelines (Advertising Review Counsel established in 2000) and monitors privacy practices as a COPPA Safe Harbor (ESRB Privacy Certified established in 1999).
  • ESRB is looking to the future by streamlining digital rating services in collaboration with other rating boards across the globe.
For all of the latest updates such as videos, images, and infographics, including ESRB
Celebrates 20 Years and 1994 in Gaming, please follow ESRB on Facebook and Twitter or visit

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave your comment here. We request word verification to prevent the spammers out there. Thanks a lot!